Orange Road Kill

I’d done a quick tour of Calafate, bought some provisions for the road to Chaltén, almost ready to go.  I returned to the camp site, where I could get wifi & upload the last blog.  I’d met Patrick, from France, on arriving & we chatted some more.  He was off early in the morning South, travelling from Puerto Montt to Ushuaia but then he was returning back on a differing route.  His link is http://itinerancevelo.blogspot.com.ar/

I’d decided on an all you can eat Parilla however just before that Shaun, an Irish guy turned up on a Dawes bike.  I learned later he’d been up & down South America quite a lot, and to be fair he looked ‘traveled’ like his panniers.

I made the Parilla, but I failed to eat all I wanted of the All you can eat meat platter.  Damn, I was so hoping to eat more 😦

I left early on Tuesday, hoping to make good headway & perhaps make El Chaltén in two days.  The wind was with me for the first 30km but then on turning North, leaving the road I traveled in on the day before, I hit headwind. It was a long day, but in the end I made it past La Leona, where I could have stayed, but pushed on to meet Epauli (I think this is the spelling) and Emma, on a tandem, both from France.  I left them to push on as I turned onto Ruta 23 for the final 90km push to Chaltén.  I made a few km before I decided the ditch was a better place to be.  Windy… Phew you bett-ya.  I ate my canned Merluza and peas.  Mmmm, not again.  I’m saving my cheese & tuna pasta dish for another day.

I needed a nature break at midnight & with some stars out I took the opportunity to try some snaps despite some cloud, moon & descending sun.  The wind had died down but it was getting cold.  Orion on his head, again and the Southern Cross were visible, along with the Milky-Way.

I woke later at 5 something and it was time to get up.  By 6:15 I was pushing those pedals again, but it was without headwind.  As I was travelling due West along a very long lake I knew the wind would kill me if I didn’t move it.  Those mountains in the distance didn’t look 90km away although they were.  So the only thing that changed for most of the day was the time and the distance covered.  I rolled in to Chaltén just after 12.  After stopping at the National Park Info centre and then the town info centre I was armed with all the info I needed.  I visited Zona Austral who gladly sold me the tickets for both boats.

Now you may be wondering about the title of the post.  Well this sort of thing has happened before and it’s weird.  In the middle of nowhere at the side of the road was a squashed orange and one which had survived becoming road kill.  No sign of anyone, no indications anyone’s left it on purpose.  It seemed fresh, no cuts nor bruises.  What gives?  I decided I’d give it a lift, only because it seemed lonely after its companion had become veggie road kill.

4 thoughts on “Orange Road Kill

  1. ah, the wind… and loved the orange story. Reminded me – I met a swiss guy in the north of Argentina who had found a whole sack of onions by the side of the road in the middle of nowhere and was carrying the whole lot on his bike, he was desperate for someone to take a few off his hands, leaving them not an option for him 🙂

    Like

    1. I could do with some onions, I’ve been on the look out for a guy on a bike with some strung round their necks ala French style. Just the beret’s so far. Found lots of wood but my stove’s running gas. Chau!

      Like

Leave a Reply

